Press Conference and White House Petition Delivery on 8th Anniversary of Authorization

Contact: Medea Benjamin, CODEPINK co-founder, at 415-235-6517
September 16th, 2009

Press Conference and White House Petition Delivery on 8th Anniversary of Authorization for Afghanistan Invasion: Coalition calls for exit strategy as public opposition to war grows

WASHINGTON D.C.—On the 8th anniversary of Authorization for Use of Military Force in Afghanistan, activists from CODEPINK, United For Peace & Justice, Institute for Policy Studies, and other community groups will hand-deliver a petition to the White House and speak out against plans to send more troops. The petition, signed by authors, academics, producers, community leaders and thousands of citizens, calls on leaders to oppose escalation of troops and adopt an exit strategy based on all-party talks, regional diplomacy, unconditional humanitarian aid and timelines promising an American and NATO military withdrawal from Afghanistan.

“Our military is overstretched, our wallets are empty and there is no military solution to the conflict in Afghanistan," said CODEPINK co-founder Medea Benjamin, who is joining a delegation to Afghanistan next week. "We can save money, save lives and honor the will of the American people by focusing on negotiated solutions and bringing our troops home.”

Benjamin will be joined by community leaders and activists, including CODEPINK women with their usual colorful outfits, to deliver the petition drafted by anti-war activist Tom Hayden.  The petition voices popular public opinion; after eight years of fighting, Americans oppose the war in Afghanistan more than ever, according to recent CNN and Washington Post /ABC Polls.

WHAT:               Press Conference calling on leaders to heed public opinion on Afghanistan and delivery of petition calling for exit strategy in Afghanistan and no more escalation.

WHEN:                9:00 AM, Thursday September 17, 2009

WHERE:                White House, 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW Washington DC 20009

WHO:               Medea Benjamin, CODEPINK co-founder

Ann Wright, Retired U.S. Diplomat

Gael Murphy, United for Peace and Justice

Phyllis Bennis, Institute for Policy Studies

For more information, please contact Emily Siegel, CODEPINK DC Coordinator at 202-441-6716 or Medea Benjamin at 415-235-6517.

View the complete petition online at: